Blocking Google Ads in Opera 9

If you are an Opera fan(like me) you will miss the Adblock plugin of the Firefox but after the release of Opera 9 you don’t have to worry about it.Opera now includes an in built content blocking feature.In this post I will show you how to block Google Text ads easily.

Step I:

Goto Tools –> Preferences

Step II

Navigate to the “Advanced” tab, and then on the left sidebar, click “Content” and the button “Blocked Content”

Step III

As the last step click on the button which says “Add”, a new text field for you to put a web address will be there and you can just put this in it

http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/*

10 thoughts on “Blocking Google Ads in Opera 9

  1. But I think you can use the same way to block other text ads too.If everyone implement this type of blocking Google will have a tough time,but the fact is that a very few are doing this.
    That is a nice little guide,Subscribing to your feed. 🙂

  2. Thank you for your helpful example, now I can surf totally ad-free with Opera on my good ol’ Windows, Linux and Apple PCs 😉

  3. Hi,

    The funny thing is that there is Google Ads on this page !!!
    Are you expecting to get a bit of money from Google while explaining how to avoid it ?

    Anyway, thanks for the small tip, I’m new with Opera and I actually wonder if it’s not far better that FireFox…

    Bye

  4. Well, I have done it and it seems to work so far. Thank you. Gotta say that the internet is wonderful in the way people are willing to share their information! thanks!

Leave a comment