More info on Freespire

In my last post I have given you a hint about the new Linux Operating System Freespire.I didn’t got enough time to write an explanation about that(hey..I have given you the link didn’t I? 🙂 ).

I am really impressed with what they have done. here is a bit more information about freespire and my opinions about those

    • Is a community-driven, Debian-based Linux distribution.

Wow!! It is a Debian based one so it is stable

  • Is always made available for free use, distribution and modification, now and forever.

They are following the basic Linux philosophy “free for all”

    • Is available in two versions:
      The regular, complete version includes legally-licensed, 3rd party codecs, drivers and software, to offer better hardware, file type, and multimedia support. Freespire includes turn-key, out-of-the-box support for MP3, Windows Media, QuickTime, Java, Flash, Real, ATI drivers, nVidia drivers, proprietary WiFi drivers, modem drivers, fonts, and so on.
      The OSS Edition uses only open source software.

That is the best move that they have made giving an option of two different version of the same software.This will help beginners to get started easily(like me).Do you know how much irritatted I was while I  was not able to listen to mp3 songs while I installed Ubuntu/Redhat Fedora Core etc etc.I will definetly choose the first option.Die hard Opensource Maniacs may stick to the second option(Richard Stallman???)

    • Provides free access to the entire Freespire open source application pool using apt-get

Really simple way for the instalation of new softwares.

    • Offers optional use of the Linspire CNR (click and run) Service. (The CNR Client is open source.)

I really didn’t understood that….will post when I get some clue about it.(Search it and comment if you know :))

    • Utilizes the community IRMA project to provide Freespire in dozens of different languages.

I can use it in my own languageif I wish(no..I really don’t want to)and you can use it in yours

    • Is community supported at no charge, with optional enhanced support available.

Same as Ubuntu, optional paid support availble for businesses and like.

Leave a Reply

